Mommy Monday

The Case of “The More You Know”

It is the honest truth.

I swore up and down that I would never homeschool my children.

“I haven’t the patience for it,” I said.

“I cannot teach,” I said.

And here I am now. I know three moms who homeschool their children. I know the reason why for one of them, I have yet to ask the other two why they chose to homeschool. Suddenly, I’m beginning to wonder if, perhaps, homeschooling is a good route for us to take.

I feel like a crazy person for even considering it. But the more I think about it, the more it seems to make sense.

Note that I said “seems”. I’m still very unsure of this potential madness. And I’m definitely not getting much support on the homefront over this, being part of a family that has a) held traditional education in the highest regard and b) general lack of support because “it will bury me alive”, this venture.

For now, I am reading about it as a form of self-study. I don’t know if my patience will hold up, but I certainly do enjoy a bit of play time with my son and if he learns along the way, then that would be great! As it is, I’m already trying to integrate some elements of Montessori schooling in our daily activities. So far, so good! He’s already learned to dress himself and use a mop and a broom. I taught him how to wash dishes a while ago by allowing him to help me wash his play kitchen materials.

To be honest, I feel like if we keep this up, we could very well be on our way to the building the foundations of a homeschool.

Anyone out there with further thoughts?

Leave a Reply

