“Lang”

This Filipino word for “only” or “just” is wrapped in so many layers that it can get ridiculous. Yet we use it so often that it’s easy to forget how limiting it can be.

Wednesday afternoon, as I brought my 5-year-old son to school, we partly witnessed a hit and run incident between a vehicle in a rush to get to its destination, and a dog who had the misfortune of getting in the way.

Immediately, my thoughts went to “Oh my God, what do I do?”

I ushered my son inside his school, promising I will try to help the dog. By the time I returned, however, the dog was barely alive and before I could figure out how to get her help, she breathed her last.

I felt so much rage and sadness that all I could do, really, was ask if anyone knew the owner and if the persons on the scene might be able to bury her. I felt like my time spent as a shelter volunteer were suddenly useless.

After extracting the assurance that she would be buried, I had to leave to mind my next appointment. Her face stayed with me the rest of the day and she was actually still by the side of the road when we returned to fetch my son after class. A woman tending a nearby store said they probably mean to bury her in the evening.

It did get me thinking why the driver didn’t bother to stop.

Is it because it’s just a dog? “Aso lang naman yan.

I got asked why I was so concerned, prompting the follow up question if I had been the driver of the vehicle that hit the dog.

I said no. I’m merely concerned about the dog’s well-being and hopeful that she can be helped. “Concerned lang naman.

One of the men I spoke with said, “I’m surprised you care.” I revealed I spent time volunteering for a local non-government organisation, PAWS. “Oh,” he said. “That’s why.”

Because it’s just a dog. Aso lang. No need to be so riled up. It’s just a dog.

When a worker started nudging her with his foot, I snapped at him. Rather cruelly, I said, “I hope someone treats you the same way when it’s your turn to pass.”

He apologised and skittered off but was he really sorry? I doubt it. Because it’s just a dog. Aso lang yan.

The concern that animal welfare advocates show animals has often labelled us as “anti-humans” because we seem to care more about animals that people. It doesn’t help that I’m very much an introvert and avoid most social situations if I can. It doesn’t, however, mean I am anti-human–how can I be when I am one? But I do believe that all life is worthy of respect.

Even without bringing in any form of religious belief, there is an immediate sense that humans exist to be caretakers of the world we live in. We are the ones with the capacity to create artificial and mechanical forms of pretty much any function in existence. We are also the ones constantly testing the capacity of nature to adapt or push back.

Biblically, Genesis 1:26 specifies humans are created to “reign” over other creations. In some translations, it is actually worded as “to be stewards”.

Caregivers.

But they are only animals.

And we are only sharing this world with many of them.

P.S. For those who might be wondering, my son didnt ask adter her when we picked him up after school. It was just as well. I was in no condition to explain such issues to him. Perhaps when he has a clearer understanding of grey areas.

Leave a comment