The (Not) Homeschooler

 

I started out wanting to homeschool my children, I really did. Since the birth of my second child, however, many things happened that simply drained my energy and helped me see that I’m better off as a Not Homeschooler.

I love love love my children and love love love spending time with them. Even so, I need time away from them, too. That’s likely to be something I won’t get if I were homeschooling them.

Add to this the fact that I now fully understand that I really do not have the patience for teaching. I openly admit to losing my patience with my five-year-old and this is just for simple tasks like completing a take-home exercise or two (oh how I dread the possibility of homework when he enters the first grade!)

But I love to learn from homeschoolers. I love downloading references, reading the activities, learning new things to do with them to help them explore and learn while having fun. I find that it addresses their need to fiddle with things and while fulfilling my need to have them learn what they need to without me getting the urge to yell at anyone.

So now I’m learning to manage his writing lessons and Maths. To be honest, if you’d told me years ago that I’d be doing the latter–teaching my kid Mathematics–I would laugh at you. But Montessori materials make it so easy. My son doesn’t even seem to mind that we’ve been doing more lessons than just his writing, heehee.

Here’s hoping I’ll be able to document our journey well.

Leave a comment